The Wayne County Historical Society is hosting a Museum Open House on July 10th from 10 AM to 2 PM to welcome their new executive director, announce summer hours, and unveil new and improved exhibits in the Carriage House.
Admission to the museum during the open house is free, and guests will be able to explore all three levels of the museum and jail, as well as the two stories in the Carriage House, at their leisure. Out in the Carriage House, guests will be able to experience a brand new display as the WCHS finishes up their new St. Peters Exhibit.
The St. Peter is a three-masted, 136-foot-long schooner that shipwrecked in Lake Ontario near the hamlet of Pultneyville in Wayne County, New York. The ship sank during a storm on October 27, 1898, while carrying coal from Oswego. All hands on the ship died in the wreckage except for the captain. Today, the schooner sits at the bottom of Lake Ontario and attracts researchers and divers from across the country. Along with several recovered artifacts, the history of the St. Peter shipwreck will be on display at the Museum of Wayne County History.
The Wayne County Historical Society will also formally introduce their new executive director, Rhea Hayes, during this open house. Rhea has been in the role, following the passing of former director Larry Ann Evans, since April 1st, 2021.
The museum gift shop will be open, and there will be refreshments available for guests in attendance. Donations to the Wayne County Historical Society are welcomed and greatly appreciated.
For more information, call the Museum of Wayne County History at (315) 946-4943 or send an email to email@example.com. Folks are also encouraged to visit and subscribe to www.waynehistory.org for all museum news and updates.