Landmark Society Seeking Nominations for 2022 Preservation Awards

Matthew Smith of Unified Vision Studios in Rochester, one of two Traditional Trades Awards recipients in 2021 (credit Matthew Smith)

What do an iconic Art Deco skyscraper, a fountain topped by a bear, a sheep barn-turned-craft brewery, and a peppermint museum have in common? All were recipients of Preservation Awards from The Landmark Society of Western New York in 2021.

Each year, The Landmark Society presents awards to projects, individuals, and organizations who, through their dedication and hard work, have contributed to historic preservation in the organization’s nine-county area.

The Landmark Society’s Awards Committee is now seeking nominations for its 2022 Preservation Awards. Nominations are welcome from Monroe, Genesee, Livingston, Ontario, Orleans, Seneca, Wayne, Wyoming and Yates counties.

Below is a list of the award categories, along with descriptions and criteria for each award. If you know a project, individual, or organization deserving of any of these awards, visit to download a nomination form or fill out the online nomination form by Sunday, May 1, 2022. The Awards Committee will begin reviewing submissions at its May meeting. If you have any questions, please contact Becky Timmons by email at or by phone at (585) 537-5962.


Barber Conable Award

Recognizes a large-scale rehabilitation of a historic building in our region completed within the last two years, possibly using the Federal Investment Tax Credit program.  Old fabric should be sympathetically maintained and carefully rehabilitated.  New construction, if any, should be compatible and of high authentic quality.  This award was created to honor Congressman Barber Conable of Alexander, Genesee County, who supported the establishment of the Federal Investment Tax Credit Program for the rehabilitation of historic, income-producing buildings.


Award of Merit

Applies to projects similar to those eligible for the above mentioned Conable Award, but of more modest scope.  The award is given for a sympathetic rehabilitation of an architecturally significant building, structure, object or site in our nine-county region completed within the past two years.  Candidacy may be enhanced if the project is historically significant or if it strengthens its neighborhood. The award cannot be given to single-family residences.


Stewardship Award 

Recognizes an individual or organization that has provided continued care of and commitment to the preservation of an architecturally and/or historically significant public property over a period of years. “Care” can include appropriate changes to the building fabric.  Eligible properties include religious, educational, not-for-profit, commercial or government buildings, structures, objects or sites. 


Historic Home Award

Recognizes owners of private residences for their continued care of and commitment to the preservation of an architecturally significant house over a minimum of seven (7) years. “Care” may include appropriate rehabilitation and/or sympathetic new additions according to need.  Thoughtful rehabilitation/restoration of the interior and/or significant features of a historical landscape may enhance the quality of the nomination.  The seven-year criteria may be waived in special circumstances as deemed appropriate by the awards committee.


Historic Landscape Award

Recognizes and encourages the preservation, restoration, rehabilitation and stewardship of historically significant landscapes in The Landmark Society’s nine-county region.  The recipient may be either individual(s) or an organization. 


Special Citation

Provides recognition for projects that do not fit into other categories or recognizes the accomplishments in the field of historic preservation of an outstanding individual or group.


Traditional Trades

Recognizes an individual working in the traditional trades for his/her exceptional knowledge of historic preservation techniques and advocacy for historic buildings. These trades include, but are not limited to: stained glass, woodworking, pipe organ building, windows, masonry, roofing  and plaster.


Paul Malo Preservation Advocacy Award

Recognizes an individual who has been an outstanding advocate for historic preservation in their community. Established in honor of the late Paul Malo, Syracuse University professor, architect, historian, award-winning author, and preservation advocate, whose passionate advocacy for New York’s historic resources extended over six decades.


Jean France Special Achievement Award

Recognizes accomplishments of an individual that have occurred over a lengthy period of time. The award was recently renamed in honor of Jean R. France, Landmark Society trustee, accomplished architectural historian, passionate preservationist, community advocate and long-time member and chair of the Preservation Awards Committee. Jean passed away in early 2021.


Blood, Sweat, and Tears Award

Recognizes building owners who have physically engaged in the preservation and restoration of their property through self-education and countless hours of do-it-yourself work. The work on the building does not have to be complete but should be mindful of the Secretary of the Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation and demonstrate substantial self-performed long-term care.


Small Business Award

Recognizes small businesses that occupy historic commercial buildings and have demonstrated their commitment to preservation via the care, repair and/or long-term operation at these sites.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *